Calvary Baptist Church of Denver Annual Gathering/Meeting January 28, 2024 9:00 a.m. – 11:50 p.m. (MST) In-person (116) and via Zoom (5)

8:50 a.m. – Gathering Music (Linda Fischer, piano)

9:00 a.m. – Welcome (Erin Gangloff, Co-Moderator) Opening Prayer/Litany (Pastor Morgan Caruthers Fletcher)

9:05 a.m. – Potluck & Fellowship

- 9:30 a.m. Celebrating our time together in 2023
 - Slideshow with music (Denise Wylde and Pastor Morgan)
 - Volunteer recognition (Senior Pastor Anne Scalfaro) –<u>Volunteer Appreciation</u>
 - Song: *Be Thou My Vision* (Anne Comstock/Linda Fischer)
 - Insight Leadership Team Roadmap/Update (Beth Dickinson) –<u>Discernment Insights</u> and <u>Calvary Discernment Roadmap</u>
 - Financial Wellness (Cindy Ponikvar, Church Treasurer, Natalie Ralston, Stewardship Chair, and Senior Pastor Anne Scalfaro) See attachments: Profit & Loss Budget vs. Actual and 2023/2024 Budget Comparison
 - Net operating income was \$103,982.64
 - Celebrate ending the year with a positive \$40,000+ of net income.
 - Nominating Ballot (Jim Comstock, Nominating Chair) Council Nominations to extend their current roles, approximately 5 months (or until new leadership structure is voted upon and filled):

Moderator – Erin Gangloff

Church Secretary – Judy Griswold

Church Treasurer – Cindy Ponikvar

Staff Relations Chair – Beth Dickinson

Nominating Chair – Jim Comstock

Resource Management Chair – Bill Warren

Stewardship Chair – Natalie Ralston

At-Large Council Members:

Barbara Carter, Allie Auyogi, David Peterson, Bill Ponikvar, Ryan Robinson, Corry Doty, Christine Zeiler

Council members not extending terms:

Rick Breitenbecher – Co-Moderator

Sarah Brooks – At-large (previously stepped down)

Erin Gangloff, Co-Moderator, asked for a vote to approve the list of Council Members. It was a unanimous vote for all the candidates.

10:00 a.m. – Looking Forward with Vision

- Song: Servant Song (Anne Comstock/Linda Fischer)
- Lay Leadership Presentation w/Scriptures (Erin Gangloff, Co-Moderator, Anne Comstock)
 - Work still to be done finalizing descriptions and responsibilities of leaders and teams, reviewing by-laws for necessary changes, developing and implementing a consensus decision-making model, exploring how staff partner with lay leadership. This structure reflects 14 deacons elected by the congregation versus a

slate of 35, 2-year term commitment, with an annual mutual assessment, and then the ability to continue serving (no term limits).

*See attachments: <u>Proposed Lay Leadership System</u> and <u>Lay Leadership</u> <u>Structure Scriptures</u>.

- Song: A Place at the Table (Anne Comstock/Linda Fischer)
- Table Discussion about Lay Leadership Presentation
- 2024 Budget Presentation (Cindy Ponikvar, Church Treasurer; Anne Scalfaro, Senior Pastor)
 - Erin Gangloff, Co-Moderator, asked for any questions about the <u>Proposed 2024</u> <u>Financial Plan</u> and then called for a vote from the congregation to approve the Proposed 2024 Financial Plan totaling a revenue stream of \$1,034,212 and a Total Operating Budget of \$1,034,212. There was a unanimous vote for the 2024 Financial Plan.
- 11:20 a.m. Closing with Communion around the tables, serving each other (Pastors Morgan Fletcher, Alice Horner Nelson and Anne Scalfaro presided at the Table)
 - Song: *Let Us Break Bread Together* (Anne Comstock/Linda Fischer)
 - Save the dates for future meetings- February 18th- Deep Dive on Proposed Lay Leadership Structure (Erin Gangloff, Co-Moderator)
 - Closing Song/Benediction: *Blest be the Tie* (Anne Comstock)

11:50 a.m. – Adjournment by Erin Gangloff, Co-Moderator

Annual Meeting Minutes by Judy Griswold, Church Council Secretary